The Glump


For the past two weeks I have been in a glump.

Yes, a glump.

Glump: (n) a state of glumness that one just sort of slumps into

I have no reason for feeling glum and I consider myself too healthy to be slumping into much of anything.

And yet here I am, feeling mildly depressed for no reason: I’m not sleeping well, I feel like crying, I feel hopeless, I feel foggy-brained.

Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m alone in my glump.  This 100-degree weather day-in and day-out with no rain is bringing everybody down.

It really is a case of the summertime blues.

Hopefully next week it will rain.

Hopefully next week I will have words to write.

Hopefully next week I will have found a way out of this glump!

 

 

13 thoughts on “The Glump

  1. Oh, Leilani, this oppressive weather has caused many glumps. I know you have so many projects, and how can one do yard work, or anything else, except to try to stay out of the heat? It is exhausting! I come home and fall into bed and sleep for a few hours after work, which I never did before.
    We are all praying for rain. I’m reading The Time It Never Rained by Elmer Kelton this weekend. I’ve heard great things about it, and since we have now surpassed the drought of the 1950’s (at least this year), it seems like the perfect time to read this one.
    All the best, and hang in there!,

    • I am tempted to read On the Banks of Plum Creek myself. It is an incredible story of survival through drought and plagues of grasshoppers! In fact, all of those Little House books are fascinating. Let me know how your book turns out.:)

  2. I’ve been in a glump, too, for the past two weeks. I can pinpoint the reasons for my glumpy state, but I don’t know that that matters. Too bad I didn’t love closer to Clyde – we could be glumpy together! At the very least, I could help you with one of your house projects. 😀

      • I’m all for moving. I never expected to be back in El Paso or to be back for this long. I know I’m where I’m supposed to be for the time-being, but moving is always an option in my mind. 🙂

    • You STILL have not had that garage sale yet?? Haha. Good to hear from you again, Colleen. I missed you. 🙂

      • No not yet – been too hot to go out in the garage! Plus I had a bout with strep throat which turned out to not be strep theoat but it hurt alot just the same. We are now shooting for the first weekend in august!

      • Thank GOODNESS it wasn’t strep! Yuck! I couldn’t imagine being sick or having a fever of any kind in this weather. Hope you are 100%. Especially since I plan on visiting your restaurant, come hell or high water, this Tuesday!

  3. I actually feel that way too. Sad, alone, worried. But maybe it’s because we HAVEN’T had heat and sun and it’s been cold and rainy. 😦

    • Mmmmmm, cold! MMMmmmmmm, rainy!! I’m looking forward to visiting mom in a week but it is equally hot and dry and miserable there, too. When she goes to visit you, Momma will actually get a change of scenery.:) Love you and hope you find your way out of the glump, too!

Leave a Reply

