My Furniture Wish List


When it comes to furniture, I am all about hunting around yardsales and thrift stores for pieces.  This is because I think that it’s absolutely ridiculous to pay $165 for a bedside table!  (And that’s if you want a cheaply-made bedside table!)  No, I’d much rather spend $5 on an ugly but well-built chair and have it reupholstered.  (More on this later!)

However, there comes a time in every frugal person’s life when they must visit an actual furniture store for more specific pieces.  (shudder!) 

These specific pieces are as follows:

My Furniture Wish List

#1: A modest-sized roll-top desk (for our modest-sized study)

#2: A chaise lounge (I have the perfect space for one in our living room)

   

Though this white chaise has nice bones, I would prefer one in a fun toile print.

#3: A small chaise sofa (for lounging in the upstairs art/entertainment room)

#4: A corner entertainment unit (a space-saver for our cozy little den)

#5: A trundle bed (perfect size and functionality for our small guest bedroom)

Who knows?  I just might come across one or all of these items during my wanderings through my usual haunts.  And on that day I will be the happiest shopper in the world!

6 thoughts on “My Furniture Wish List

  1. I’ve seen really nice roll top desks at yard sales. Especially ones where old people have died and their kids are selling their stuff. Or at auctions. Rich people have nice furniture like that and they’ve never even used it or sat on it. But they like to replace it every few years.

  2. Next trip to Houston, you and Dave save room in your truck. We have like 15 antique stores within walking distance from our place. I’m sure you could find something you like and within what you want to spend… 🙂

    • Really? I don’t associate antiquing with Houston. I think I might luck out finding either the desk or the chaise at an antique store, tho.

Leave a Reply

