Homemade Taco Seasoning


Bad news: I may not be writing very much for the next couple weeks…

Good news: …because Dave and I are making progress on the house…and in life!

In addition to the floor painting project, I have also found a new (full-time) job and am trying to find a new balance of time management to go with it.

Translation: I’m a mess right now!

Therefore, I am not sure WHAT Dave and I will be eating this week…that is, if we find time to eat at all.

Currently, this is what our kitchen looks like after our weekend of floor sanding:

Overall, it’s not bad…but it is bare and needs to remain bare for another week or so.

What to do?!

It’s times like these when I am most thankful for taco salad.  Taco salad is comfort food meets eat-your-veggies PLUS it’s super easy to assemble in even the scarcest of kitchens.  But even though I am preparing easy meals for the next few weeks, I refuse to use a pre-made taco seasoning mix because:

1. They contain too much added sodium

2. They contain too much added flavors and fillers

3. They turn my taco meat bright orange.

4. Meat should never look bright orange.

Since most of these spices are already hanging out in your kitchen, give this homemade taco seasoning a try!

Homemade Taco Seasoning

*1 Tablespoon chili powder

*1/2 teaspoon cumin

*3/4 teaspoon garlic salt

*1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

*1/4 teaspoon oregano

*pinch of red pepper flakes

*1 teaspoon dried onion flakes, optional (though I prefer browning my ground beef with fresh onions instead))

Mix all ingredients and sprinkle over meat.  Brown as usual.

Here’s to a week full of progress and adjustments!

Leave a Reply

