Creamy Pecan Pie


It has been a while since I’ve posted a “Recipe of the Week.”

Because it has been a while since I’ve cooked.

On the bright side: I HOPE TO HAVE OUR OVEN UP AND RUNNING BY THE END OF THE MONTH!!!  (It’s only taken me 14 months to do so.  Sheesh!)

This past weekend was Clyde’s Pecan and Bluegrass Festival, and even though it got cut short by a much-needed rain, I still had enough time to conduct my pecan pie Contest!!

Let me just say that the participants made it difficult for the judges!

They were all so good.

And I was oh so bad.  🙂

Even though I enjoyed each pie, I was most intrigued by the Creamy Pecan Pie. (the topmost pie on the right)

Because I like cream.

Because you can’t go wrong with cream.

If you enjoy cream, too, then today is your lucky day!

Because I found the recipe for Creamy Pecan Pie!

So turn on that oven and get baking!

Because this cloudy weather REQUIRES baking.

Creamy Pecan Pie

*3/4 cup sugar

*2 Tablespoons flour

*1/2 teaspoon salt

*2 large eggs, beaten

*1 cup dark corn syrup

*1 teaspoon vanilla

*1/2 cup evaporated milk

Mix all ingredients until well blended.  Then add 1 cup of pecan pieces.  Pour into a prepared pie crust.  Bake 1 hour at 350 degrees.  Serve at room temperature.

Everyone has their own method for pie crust.  Some use only shortening.  Others, only butter.  And then there are people like me who use a mixture of both.

BUT!…

…there are yet another type of people who use lard!

We call those kind of people “Contest Winners”:

Congratulations Brenda McThomas!

If you want to learn more about how to make the perfect (and lardy) pie crust, visit The Pioneer Woman’s blog and she’ll tell you all about it!

Happy baking and long live pecans!!!

One thought on “Creamy Pecan Pie

Leave a Reply

