Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #11 Another Leilani


Anytime I tell someone my name, they either:

A. Cannot pronounce it back to me

B. Add an “a” to the end of it

C. Tell me they know another Leilani

I have met SO many people who know another Leilani, but I have only met one so far:

Turns out, we go to the same gym.

“Leilani, meet Leilani.”

And wouldn’t you know it?Β  We are both November babies, too!

Nevertheless, it is so strange seeing my name under someone else’s face!

I have always enjoyed the uniqueness of my name with two exceptions:

A. I am tired of spelling it for people

B. I’ve yet to find my name printed on a coffee mug, necklace, fake license plate or anything else that is typically sold at a Flying J.

If and when I ever make it to Hawaii, the first thing I’m gonna do is buy a coffee mug with my name on it!

(I hear that Leilani is to Hawaii what Mary is to the lower 48.)

In the meantime, it was good to meet you, Leilani.

5 thoughts on “Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #11 Another Leilani

Leave a Reply

