Thirty Thoughts on Turning Thirty: #12 My Proudest Moment


I was 16 when I first watched the Kona Ironman on television.

And I was blown away by the capabilities of the human body:  A 2-mile swim in the ocean…followed by100-mile bike ride…followed by a marathon?

How was this even possible?!!

I was so touched by the event, and from that moment on, I knew my life would be incomplete if I never got the chance to participate in such a race.

12 years later, I got that chance.

Here is where I would like to give a big, heartfelt “THANK YOU!” to my friend Laura.  It was her idea to offer a sprint triathlon class at the local university, and I jumped at the opportunity to be a part of it.

And by “jumped,” I mean “a friend convinced me to do it.”

That’s right.

After 12 years of waiting for the opportunity to compete in a triathlon, I almost didn’t do it!

This is because I occasionally suffer from this syndrome where I’m afraid to do the very thing that I want to do because what I want to do might cause me some level of discomfort.

And I was uncomfortable!

First of all, class started at 7:30 am.  Though this was not too terribly early, it was chilly.  I remember the day our class had to practice our first swim/bike brick.  (A brick is any combination of two triathlon events such as a swim and a bike ride or a bike ride and a run.)  The morning was cold, wet and gusty, but we still had to swim for what felt like 5 miles before running outside and hopping on our bikes.

Pedaling into the icy wind wearing a dripping wet swimsuit was awful…and yet empowering.  Finishing that ride showed me just how capable I was at enduring (and achieving!) difficult tasks.  In fact, every class revealed yet another layer of my mental and physical strength.  On days when I feel like giving up, all I have to do is remember that cold, wet, miserable bike ride and suddenly life doesn’t seem so impossible anymore.

******

I was downright giddy the morning of the race.

This is not like me.

I hate competition; it makes me panic.

But the beauty of a triathlon is that it’s only as competitive as you make it.  Therefore, I imagined that I was the only one in the race and my only task was to cross the finish line.

Which I did!

Crossing the finish line and running into the arms of my loved ones was such an incredible moment, but in truth, I enjoyed the WHOLE thing from the preparation, to the swim, to the bike, to the run, to the finish.

Proudly showing off my race numbers. Go 36!

Eventually, I’d like to run another triathlon.

Maybe even a longer one!

Or maybe even an Iron Man!

But who knows?

After all, I am getting older.  😉

One thought on “Thirty Thoughts on Turning Thirty: #12 My Proudest Moment

Leave a Reply

