Turkey Time!


Thanksgiving is around the corner which means it is time to start obsessing over which turkey I am going to bake this year!!

I am having a difficult time deciding, though.

Should I go super traditional or super crazy?

Should I bake the bird in a turkey bag like Momma or should I swaddle the bird in cheesecloth and baste it with wine and butter like Martha?

Either way, once the turkey is cooked there is one thing I am sure to do once the bird is done: NIBBLE THE CRISPY SKIN STRAIGHT OFF THE CARCASS.

It’s funny: I could spend hours hovering over a turkey carcass, but the minute I sit down to a big slice of turkey, I quickly become disinterested.  “You expect me to eat this WHOLE SLICE of meat??”

Nevertheless, this behavior does not discourage me from wanting to prepare a huge turkey.

Here are the recipes I am mulling over as of right now…

(First things first!!!  Learn how to cook the perfect bird here!)

Herb Roasted Holiday Turkey (in a bag)

This is how Momma has cooked her turkey for as long as I can remember.  The meat always comes out tender and juicy, and the skin is crispy.  The bag makes for easy cleanup and simplicity…but sometimes I crave complexity!!

Martha Stewart’s Roast Turkey

I actually tried this recipe a few years back and, though basting a bird in wine and butter sounded absolutely fabulous, I did not appreciate having to duck my head into the hot stove every 20 minutes to baste!

But maybe I will enjoy it a second time around?

The Barefoot Contessa’s Perfect Roast Turkey

Ina Garten is famous for fool-proof recipes that are both delicious and simple.

I know that, one day, I WILL prepare her turkey…but will it be this year??

Roast Turkey with Brown Sugar and Mustard Glaze

I do love mustard on fowl!  And I love the combination of salty, sweet and savory.  I refuse to stuff a bird, however.  Cuz that is NASTY!!

Spice-Rubbed Roast Turkey

Hmmm, all those SPICES!  I bet this bird makes amazing gravy!!

Turkey Roulade with Apple-Cider Gravy

The best thing about turkey roulades?

No bones to scrape clean, no blubbery fat and skin to deal with and easy to slice!

Plus, the presentation is gorgeous!

Black Pepper-Pomegranate Molasses Glazed Turkey

Oh my gawd.

The photo alone!

Decisions, decisions….

Cider Bourbon-Glazed Roast Turkey with Shallot Gravy

I think I might have found a winner!

(And my decision has NOTHING to do with the fact that there is bourbon in the recipe!)

(Ok, maybe it has something to do with it….)

Deep Fried Whole Buffalo Turkey

Ok, I’ll be honest.  I would never consider frying a turkey because of the high fire risk and because oil is too expensive to waste.

Besides, I don’t think buffalo-flavored turkey would compliment stuffing and mashed potatoes very well.

But I have to admit, I would devour this turkey in a heartbeat!

******************

It was a long process of elimination….but deciding which kind of turkey to cook is part of the fun!

Happy Turkey-ing!

4 thoughts on “Turkey Time!

    • Fun! You are the only other person I know who has made Martha’s turkey. 🙂 You must like regular bursts of hot air to your face. haha

Leave a Reply

