Homemade Cranberry Sauce


I LOVE cranberry sauce!!!!

Always have.

Always will.

If I am ever in need of an IV, just mash up some cranberry sauce and send it on through.

Cranberry sauce is really and truly my favorite part of Thanksgiving (and Christmas) dinner.   In fact, I will skip the pie and rum cake and enjoy a [large] second helping of cranberry sauce for dessert instead.

Here is a crude drawing of how my plate looks on Thanksgiving Day:

I’m surprised my teeth haven’t decayed by now.

My addiction welcomes all forms of cranberry sauce.

I like to cut the jellied version that comes in a can into thick slices and slurp them up in Hannibal-Lector fashion.

However, it is just as important for me to have the homemade whole-berry version at my disposal as well.

AND I HAVE THE BEST RECIPE FOR IT!  (Thanks to Martha Stewart)

Homemade cranberry sauce is neither as complicated nor as time consuming as you might think, so this year, invest a few minutes in some homemade Cranberry Sauce!

Cranberry Sauce

Serves 8…or 1 

*1 cup orange juice

*1/3-1/2 cup sugar

*1 bag fresh cranberries, rinsed

After rinsing the berries, check for any rotten, bruised or otherwise nastified berries.

Pour orange juice into a pot over medium heat.

Cook’s Note: Most recipes call for a cup of water and a cup of sugar which I think makes for a bland sauce.  Orange juice gives this sauce a lovely zing and depth of flavor!

Stir in the sugar.  I usually use closer to 1/3 cup of sugar.

But then again, I prefer my cranberry sauce to be on the tangy side.

So you decide.

Bring mixture to a boil, stirring often to keep the sugar from burning.

Once the mixture has come to a boil, add the cranberries.

Stir berries occasionally.

It won’t be much longer until you hear a “POP!”

This is normal.

You want the “POP!”

Just keep stirring, and it will be okay.

After about 10 minutes, the cranberries will have POP!ped themselves into a lovely red mush.

When the mush is the consistency of loose jam, turn the heat off.

Pour sauce into a non-reactive dish and allow to cool a bit before placing in the refrigerator.  Chill at least 2 hours before serving.

Devour by the spoonfuls.

I LOVE CRANBERRY SAUCE!

LEILANI + CRANBERRY SAUCE = TRUE LOVE

LEILANI & CRANBERRY SAUCE FOREVER

Ok, I’ll stop.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Cranberry Sauce

  1. I love cranberry sauce too! Love it so much that I did a search for loving it and found you. I just ate a cranberry sauce wrap for supper and it was delicious; you should try it. Thanks for the homemade recipe, I’ll be whipping up a batch soon.

    • Wonderful! Always good to be united with a fellow cranberry sauce freak. Mmmm, I could go for some RIGHT NOW!

Leave a Reply

