Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #23 Victory in a Cereal Box


Last week, I had a small victory in self-worth.

It involved a box of cereal…

A couple weeks ago, I was in the grocery store staring longingly at a box of Raisin Nut Bran.

“I wish I could afford Raisin Nut Bran,” I lamented.

Raisin Nut Bran has always been one of my favorite cereals, but I have never, ever purchased a box of it.  In my mind, I cannot justify spending three dollars and fifty cents on a box of cereal.

And yet, I still really, really want it.

As I left the cereal aisle that day with a less expensive box of cereal in my cart, a little voice in back of my head whispered, “You CAN afford Raisin Nut Bran!”

I’ve gotten really good at ignoring this little voice, but for some reason, her words resonated with me that day and I couldn’t get them out of my head.

“Why DON’T I buy the cereal I really want?” I asked myself.  “I have a job!  I can afford three dollars and fifty cents!   Am I not worth three dollars and fifty cents?”

I guess not, considering the fact that I’ve loved Raisin Nut Bran for 25 years and yet have never purchased a box for myself because it is fifty cents more than I think cereal should cost.

Ten, five and even one year ago, I still would have found some reason as to why I should not waste money on frivolity.

But on last week’s grocery trip, I decided that I was worth the waste:

The next morning, I snuggled up in bed with the Clyde Journal and a big ol’ bowl of Raisin Nut Bran.

And I enjoyed every bite.

Oops!

I got so carried away in my savoring that I forgot to leave Baby Girl some milk.

Sorry, kitty.

Now that I have overcome the Raisin Nut Bran brain block, I think I am finally ready to purchase other frivolous products I’ve had my eye on such as Bonne Maman jam:

And gallon-sized Ziploc freezer bags:

And Viva paper towels.

And organic milk.

8 thoughts on “Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #23 Victory in a Cereal Box

  1. A little note about Bonne Maman preserves – after you eat all the jam, you can use the jar as a juice glass. I love them. So you’re not just buying jam, you’re buying a cute juice glass, too.

    Just doing my part.

  2. Wash and reuse the ziploc bags (except for those that had raw meat in them) – get more mileage that way. And with organic milk, you are avoiding all sorts of chemical nasties and thereby improving your life, health and making sure you are there for Dave! Absolutely worth it.

    • The phrase “chemical nasties” is enough to push me towards my first gallon of organic milk! Whenever I do get my hands on a ziploc baggie, I use the heck of out it. Imagine if I had a whole box?! hahah

  3. Good for you that you can buy it, because I do love it and I can’t, I live in Brazil and I can’t find it here! Enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

