Making Valentine’s Day Fun Again


It’s a shame how NOT FUN Valentine’s Day is for adults.

When I was a kid, Valentine’s Day was one of the funnest days of the year.  Giving and receiving carefully selected valentines (preferably Animaniacs or Tiny Toons), proudly distributing Momma’s homemade, heart-shaped sugar cookies to my classmates (she would write each student’s name in frosting on their cookie), dressing up in my shiny, pink dress (my go-to Valentine’s Day outfit)–it was all SO MUCH FUN!

Then I entered the 6th grade….and suddenly Valentine’s Day became one big disappointment.  No more class parties, no more monogrammed cookies, no more fun.

18 years later, I am happily married, and Dave and I have had a lot of fun together…except on Valentine’s Day.  One year, we decided to give in to the Valentine’s Day routine and go out to eat.  Dave got a flat tire on the way to the restaurant.  By the time we made it to the restaurant, the place was packed and we had to wait 45 minutes to eat.  I was starving.  Dave was tired.  Once our food finally arrived, we took two bites, asked for a doggie bag and drove the heck home.

[insert heart-shaped sad face here]

Not.  Fun.

Nevertheless, the desire to enjoy this holiday is still in me.

Therefore, over these past few days, I’ve decided to ignore everything that makes Valentine’s Day depressing and make it fun again!

Here’s how you can, too!

How To Make Valentine’s Day Fun Again

#1. Make your own valentines

Buying a premade card at the store is such a hassle, but creating these cards was good clean fun.  Besides, this way I can squeeze in all the cats I want!

#2. Bake your own valentines

A homemade card is sweet, but homemade raspberry jam thumbprints are even sweeter. 

Especially if they come in a sweet baggie.  I found a package of these cellophane bags at Wal-Mart for $.97.

Now…to deliver these delights to all my friends!

#3. Make some “Pink Elephant Popcorn”

I stumbled upon this photo of pink popcorn on Pinterest (say that 3 times fast!) and was instantly intrigued.

So I made the popcorn.

  

It turned out weird.

I will not make this again.

But even though the popcorn didn’t taste good, it was gooey, messy, very-pink fun.

#4. Pamper yourself

  

I even showed my appendages some love with a mani/pedi.  (In pink nail polish, of course!)

Ahh, me time.

#5. Think outside the Date Box

Dave and I don’t celebrate Valentine’s Day on February 14th.

We celebrate it whenever we darn well feel like it.

This past Sunday, we felt like it.  I whipped up some french toast and coffee which we enjoyed in front of the fire, and while the snow started to fall outside, we played a game of Scrabble.

Brody made himself a part of the game, too.

The day was so relaxing…I think it was our best Valentine’s Day together yet!

*******************************

Hope you all enjoy as much love and fun as you dare tomorrow.

Or whenever you darn well feel like it!

One thought on “Making Valentine’s Day Fun Again

Leave a Reply

