Cleaning and Repurposing an Old Rug


Now that my husband and I are (for the most part) in the decorating stages of our fixer-upper, I’ve found that my rugs don’t compliment my new color schemes.

[insert sad face here]

Thankfully, I am frugal and frugality leads to creativity!  Therefore, I have decided to paint the plainest of my now-ugly rug collection.

Like most of my project endeavors, this will be a first attempt, but Curbly has an inspiring, step-by-step tutorial.  Now all I have to do is decide which pattern and colors to use!  Here are some fun ideas I am considering:

Once the rug is done, I will loving place it in my sweet white-and-yellow-striped room:

In the meantime, I’ve decided to get said rug cleaned.

Translation: I cleaned that rug my darn self.  Because I am frugal.

Here is how I saved money cleaning my rug myself…

Leilani’s Backyard Rug Cleaning Experience

What I needed:

-A dirty rug (duh)

-A flat, clean surface (I used my deck)

-Large scrubby brush

-Laundry detergent and stain remover

-Hose with spray head attachment

-Nosy cats (for encouragement)

-A breezy, sunny day

Step #1: I liberally sprayed the entire surface of the rug with water.

Step #2: I drizzled the surface of the wet rug with detergent and used stain remover on all icky spots.

Step #3: I got on my hands and knees, and scrubbed to my heart’s content.

Step #4: Thankfully, I had a stray kitty cheerleader.  Unfortunately, the cheerleader kept trying to walk on my clean rug with her dirty paws.

Step #5: My indoor cats wished with all their might to regulate this outdoor cheerleader/imposter.

Step #6: I sprayed all the soap away in a methodical top-to-bottom pattern.  (This is the most efficient method because it pushes the soap suds in one direction and finally over the edge of the rug.)

Step #7: I brushed as much excess water off of the rug as I could with my scrubby brush.

Step #8: Since I was home alone, I had to lift the wet, heavy, cumbersome, #$%@ rug up onto a makeshift drying apparatus by myself.  (Note to self: Patio furniture is very unstable!)

Step #9: I allowed the rug to dry in the sunshine and breeze. Total drying time was only about 5 hours.

Here’s hoping that the rug-painting process goes as smoothly as the rug-cleaning process!

*********************

If you can’t get enough of home improvement projects, visit Jules over at Pancakes and French Fries.  Her William Morris project is helping me stay inspired to keep moving forward!

10 thoughts on “Cleaning and Repurposing an Old Rug

  1. I love that you cleaned your own rugs! You know, we’ve been led to believe that some things can and should only be done by professionals. When I went to Turkey and saw the Turkish ladies in front of their houses washing their Turkish kilims with water hoses and dish soap, I decided I wouldn’t pay anyone to clean my cheap target rugs.

    P.S. Good thing you didn’t pick a day like today to do it or your neighbor down the street might’ve ended up with your rug!

  2. I’m going to try the scrub brush routine when the weather improves! Last summer I used the power washer on a couple of rugs, which if fine if you don’t turn it up too much…

  3. Nicely done! I love DIY discoveries like that – especially when they save you a ton of $. I also vote for the trellis pattern for your rug…… but it might be a real pain to tape off.

Leave a Reply

