Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #24 Who I’d Eat Lunch With


This morning, as I was driving to work, “Can’t You Hear My Heart Beat” by Herman’s Hermits came on the radio.  Since this happy-jumpy song makes me feel happy and jumpy (in a good way), I turned the radio up and contentedly bebopped along.

And then, for no reason at all, I began to cry.

Big crocodile tears.

Big UNNECESSARY crocodile tears.

What’s going on here? I sobbed.

For some reason, hearing Can’t You Hear My Heart Beat made me imagine my Momma as a little girl.  (She must have been around 10 years old when the song came out.)

Suddenly, I wished very much to know 10-year-old Momma and mourned the fact that 10-year-old me would never get to play dolls or go on picnics with 10-year-old Momma.

(I think we would have been good friends.)

Then I realized that I’ve finally decided on my answer to the popular ice-breaker question:

“If you could have lunch with any person from history, who would it be?”

(I take ice-breaker questions very seriously, in case you were wondering.)

I would love to have lunch with the kid version of my Momma!

We’d munch on peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwiches and chat about our favorite cartoons.  Later, we’d ride our bikes through puddles and laugh as loud as we could.

Momma’s 10-year-old laugh.

That’s a sound I would have loved the chance to hear.

But for now, Herman’s Hermits will have to suffice.

My 3-year-old Momma

2 thoughts on “Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #24 Who I’d Eat Lunch With

  1. How very sweet! This made me get teary-eyed. I used to love for my mother to tell me stories of her childhood being raised on a farm. I used to daydream and try to imagine what it would have been like and wish I could have been there with her so I can really relate to why you must have been feeling so melancholy. By the way that is a precious picture of your mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

