Growing Pains


I am in pain right now.  Hamstring pain.  Lower back pain.  Shoulder pain.  Sunburn pain.  Even thumb pain.

Digging in the dirt always does this to me, but I’ve found that there is nothing more rewarding than preparing soil for a vegetable garden.

With the exception of this miraculous tiller, I am weeding everything out by hand (hence the thumb pain).

Ah, a spot of shade!

Before Dave and I moved to Clyde, I had to wrestle with clay soil every growing season.

But not anymore!

Now, I get to work with sandy loam!  (Do you realize how awesome it is to SLIDE a shovel into the ground versus hammering a shovel into the ground?)

Over-excited about the condition of my soil, I’ve pulled a Leilani and planned a massive garden complete with 4 large raised beds for vegetables/fruits and 2 smaller raised beds for herbs.

Here is what I plan on growing in this way-too-big garden plot:

FRUITS/VEGGIES

*Tomatoes (cherry, grape, heirloom)

*Bell peppers (red and yellow)

*Squash (zucchini, yellow, butternut, spaghetti)

*Pumpkins

*Okra

*Cucumbers

*Cantaloupe

*Watermelon

*Blackberries

*Garlic

HERBS

*Thyme

*Mint

*Basil

*Lemongrass

*Rosemary

*Lavender

*Cilantro

*Sage

I’ve got lots of work to do and little time to do it in so if you don’t see me around, it’s because I am in my garden harvesting my growing pains.

13 thoughts on “Growing Pains

  1. I’ve always wanted a huge garden…I do not want to do the work though! Lol! I can’t wait to see your garden when everything’s done!

    • I borrowed it from a good friend. Tillers come in so handy but I haven’t bought yet cuz I think, “I’ll only need it once or twice a year!”

  2. wow, you are ambitious. It would be a huge deal for me to even plant a topsy turvy tomato plant on my front porch. I hope it turns out great!

Leave a Reply

