The Dream Box


“The best place to find a helping hand is at the end of your own arm”. 

–Swedish Proverb

************************

For our second anniversary, Dave gave me this little wooden box:

He told me that since we had so many hopes and dreams, we needed a place to keep them so that we would never forget them.

“And in a few years, we can read over the dreams and see if any of them came true,” Dave added.

Over the next few years, we would scribble down our desires and drop them into the box, but when we moved, the box got packed away.

Recently, Dave and I have been brainstorming on how to make our dreams a reality.  Inspired, I dug our little wooden dream box out of the attic and we eagerly sifted through the stack of entries.

All of my dreams involved traveling to London, Israel, Thailand and the east coast.  Dave’s dreams pertained to his career and his relationships.

Even though it was interesting reading through our dreams, I was disappointed to find that none of them had really come to pass yet.

There are many reasons why dreams don’t happen right away, but I realized that, even though I am a passionate person, I have been sitting back waiting for things to magically happen on their own.

“Maybe someone will give us a check for a lot of money, and THEN we will be able go to Europe,” I remember thinking not too long ago.

No wonder why I have spent the past few years being frustrated: I’ve been putting my destiny into other people’s hands instead of my own!

I will still continue to write my dreams down and place them in the sweet wooden box, but I am done putting myself in the box.  It’s way too stuffy in there.

Here’s to proactive dreaming!

One thought on “The Dream Box

Leave a Reply

