Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #26 My First Gray Hair


My first gray hair.

I knew it was bound to happen sooner or later…just like I knew I was bound to lose my first tooth, start puberty and gain the Freshman Fifteen.

I’m actually quite proud of this hair.  It’s gold and silver and shines like glitter in the light.  This strand is the prettiest thing my head has yet to produce.

It’s more of a unicorn hair than anything else, really.

To have made it to 30 before getting my first gray unicorn hair is really a miracle considering most of the women in my family started going gray in their late teens/early twenties:

But as beautiful as their white locks are, I’m not sure if I am ready to have my own just yet.  I mean, what if more come?  What will I do? I really hate the idea of using hair dye, but if you pluck a gray hair I’ve heard that ten grow back in its place!

Luckily, this hair came from a secluded spot at the back of my head.

That’s a good sign, right?

I mean, if this hair had sprouted from the top of my head, then that would mean that I was really turning gray, right?

No, I believe that this hair, as special as it is, is just a fluke.

It’s a fluke hair.

A fluke/magical/lucky/unicorn hair.

See?

Sparkly.

7 thoughts on “Thirty Thoughts on Turning 30: #26 My First Gray Hair

  1. Keep telling yourself that. In the meantime, Walgreens always has a pretty good hair color selection with great sales. Welcome to the club.

  2. You will not go gray over night nor do they growm back ten time more!!! I am 58 and fully gray….I get compliments all of the time from both sexes. I am dark hair like you and it makes my eyes stand out! Looking at your Family picture you too will beautiful Gray hair, if you want to dye wait till you are 45-50.

Leave a Reply

