Crepe Sundays


Dave and I look forward to Sunday morning ALL week because on Sunday mornings we eat crepes!

It all started when I made apricot jam earlier this summer.  Since I prefer my apricot jam on crepes, I decided to whip up a batch one Sunday morning.

Then I did the same thing the next Sunday.

And the next.

Soon, eating crepes on Sunday became the most anticipated event of the week!  Therefore, Dave and I decided to make every Sunday an official holiday and call it “Crepe Sunday.”

Crepe Sunday is such a magical day!  Not only does it involve crepe-eating, but on Crepe Sunday, you get to do whatever the HECK you want.

Wanna lay around and watch episodes of Portlandia all day?  Do it!

Pull weeds in the garden?  If that’s what suits you!

Take a nap with the cats?  Go for it!

Do whatever you want!  It’s Crepe Sunday!!!!

While on vacation last week, I purchased a crepe pan from Kiss the Cook, my favorite cooking supply store located in Boerne, Texas.  After taking it for a test drive, I must say that I am HIGHLY pleased!

What makes a crepe pan different from any other skillet? 

1. Crepe pans have a tight, non-stick surface which means the crepe can achieve perfect brownness without sticking. 

2. Crepe pans are more compact which allows for more even browning.  They are also lightweight and have slightly sloped edges which make it easier to swirl (see below) the batter.

As for crepe recipes, I prefer a mix between my Momma’s and Alton Brown’s.  However, since the pan (by NORPRO) came with a recipe, I decided to give it a try…

EASY DESSERT CREPES

Recipe by NORPRO

Whisk 1 1/2 cups of flour with a tablespoon of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt.

Mix in 2 cups of milk, 2 lightly beaten eggs and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla.

Using a whisk, beat the mixture till smooth.

Cook’s Tip: Even after whisking, a few small lumps of flour may remain.  Strain batter if desired.

Melt a teaspoon of butter in pan over medium heat.

Pour about 1/4 cup of batter into the center of the pan and immediately begin to tilt the pan around until the surface of the pan is completely covered with batter:

Cook crepe for 1-2 minutes (or until golden) on one side.  Loosen all of the edges of the cake with a spatula before flipping:

You can either flip the crepe with a spatula…

Or without:

(I prefer without…even if I miss a couple of times)

Cook the second side of the crepe for about 30 seconds:

To keep crepes warm, you can either store them in a preheated oven (200 degrees) or in a tortilla warmer.

(I prefer my tortilla warmer because it keeps my crepes steaming hot without heating up my kitchen!)

Now, to FILL the crepes!

My favorite filling is plain old apricot jam, but strawberries and whip cream is a close second.

Since chopped, fresh strawberries can fall flat by themselves, I like to create this 1-2-3 mixture:

-1 Tablespoon vanilla or Kahlua…or Brandy…or…

-2 Tablespoons strawberry jam

-3 Tablespoons fruit juice (I used apple)

Mix all these together and microwave for 30 seconds.  Then add about 1 cup quartered strawberries to the mixture and toss.

Allow to sit for a few minutes for the flavors to “marry.”

Time to assemble!

 

Lay one crepe flat and add your filling down the center.

Fold the sides in and flip over seam-side down.  Garnish with more filling and whipped cream.

The Verdict

My crepe pan was well worth the $15 investment!  Swirling the batter was much easier as was flipping the cake.  Very pleased!

As for the recipe, it made sturdy crepes that held up very well to flipping.  I would have liked more flavor, though.  My go-to recipe calls for 2 tablespoons of vanilla whereas this one only called for 1/2 teaspoon.  Nevertheless, I will keep this recipe and add a few tweaks.

I have a wild look in my eye and a pan in my hand.
But I also have a delicious plate of crepes.
Hmmm…..

Yum!  Time to dig in and enjoy yet another Crepe Sunday.

Test drive Crepe Sunday in your own home this weekend (Then tell me how it went–I’d love to hear!)

The Recipe

Makes 12 crepes

*1 1/2 cup flour

*1 T sugar

*1/2 t baking powder

*1/2 t salt

*2 cups milk

*1/2 t vanilla

*2 eggs, lightly beaten

*2 T melted butter

Whisk dry ingredients in a bowl.  Add remaining ingredients.  Strain for lumps if desired.

Melt a teaspoon of butter in a non-stick skillet or crepe pan over medium heat.

Pour 1/4 cup of batter in the center of the pan and immediately swirl around until pan surface is completely coated.  Cook 1-2 minutes until golden on one side.  Flip and cook 30 more seconds.  Keep warm.  Fill as desired.

4 thoughts on “Crepe Sundays

  1. Can’t wait to try it!!! At my daughter’s bridal brunch this past March, Chicken crepes were served and were quite the hit! Glad to know you’re enjoying your pan. Definitely have to pass the info along. You belong on the Food Network as the next aspiring chef!

    • I will have to try chicken crepes…even if my husband isn’t sold on the idea of savory crepes. I will definitely store that Food Network compliment in my memory.:)

Leave a Reply

