Some Final Thoughts on Being Thirty


In a couple days, I will be graduating from the milestone age of 3-0 to the just-another-thirty-something age of 3-1.

Thirty-one.

It’s not a profound age like 18 or 21 or 30, but, still, I am eager for the new beginning.  I guess 30 is beginning to feel stale.

A year ago I began a series called, “Thirty Thoughts and Turning Thirty” and like most projects with a deadline, I have waited until the last minute to finish.

It’s been a great year with even greater victories so let’s finish out 3-0 with these thoughts (and vow never to write thirty things about anything ever again):

#27

Some things are just not meant to be.

For instance, I have never been able to spell occassionally.

And I still cannot spell ocassionally.

And I probably never will learn to spell ocaisonaly.

****************************

#28

As a kid, I hated going to school because I just wanted to stay home.

When I got to college, I chose to major in Education so that I could get holidays and summers off (to stay home).

When I graduated college, I worked part-time jobs so that I could spend most of the day at home.

And now, after landing a good, full-time job, I still just really want to be home.

Why do I want to stay at home?

Home is where I can create, where I can flit from garden to kitchen to sewing machine, where my time is my own.

I guess for me, there really is no place like home.

(So can I please go home now?) 
 
********************************

#29

After thirty years, I have finally allowed myself to spend the extra couple bucks on my favorite fabric softener.

Gain.

Mmmmmm, Gain.

Good-smelling clothes are not a necessity…

…but it’s also not necessary to spend life only having what is necessary.

*****************************

#30

I always thought that as I grew older, the dreams and desires I had as a kid would grow weaker.

On the contrary, they only grow stronger.

****************************

Oh, heck, why not one more thought to grow on?

#31

I grew up believing that the strongest people were those who were the most independent.

Needless to say, I spent the majority of my life feeling very weak.

Therefore, I am so grateful to every friend and relative who ever loved me or, if anything, was patient with me.

Dare I say it??  I’m everything I am because you loved me.

(Stop laughing)

Thirty-one…here we go!

12 thoughts on “Some Final Thoughts on Being Thirty

  1. Leilani,

    You are a beautiful young woman, ALIVE, creative and I see Joy and energy in you that I only wished I had! 31 is just a beginning. I don’t know you that well, but I see so much exuberance and enthusiasm that I just know every year you grow, you will just be more and more beautiful!

  2. You learn to accpt and love your self with each new year. I do still want to hang a sign around my neck that says “I never knew how good I use to be!”
    Sorry I missed you at Bra te da the other day!

  3. You are just entering a new phase of your life where you will continue to grow in grace and beauty and be blessed in many new ways. Embrace each new day and hold onto the mysteries and adventures of life. You will still have many more to experience and share. You are a beautiful, talented, and very special woman that has many exciting and great things to experience. I am so thankful to have you as my daughter in law.

  4. Leilani, you are such a joy! You make me smile from ear to ear. Psalm 16:11 NASB says “You will make known to me the path of life; In Your presence is fullness of joy; In Your right hand there are pleasures forever.” Hmm…You, Father, will make known to me the path of life…in my 30’s, my 40’s, my 50’s…and in each decade, I will find fullness of joy in Your presence…and You mean I won’t have to give up pleasure??!! You have pleasures for me forever?! What a wonder! Leilani, you go right ahead and enjoy that fragrance (Gain), enjoy those chilis, enjoy your husband, and look forward to all that is ahead with JOY!

    • Thank you so much for that, Tammie. Right now I feel caught between having one pleasure (money) over another pleasure (time). It would be nice to have both but in the meantime, life is still good. SO glad you are a part of my life.:)

Leave a Reply

