New Year, New Milestones


It’s hard to believe that Dave and I have spent three Januarys in this house!

Three COLD Januarys.  (Unfortunately, we’re still a few years away from installing central heat.)

Whenever I want to feel outrageously overwhelmed, I simply think about all of the projects we have left to finish on our fixer-upper.

And whenever I want to feel encouraged about the progress on our home, I make a list of what we’ve accomplish so far in the year.  I will admit that 2012 was not our most productive year, but the projects we did complete have made a significant impact on the simplicity of our daily lives.

January-March 2012

Project #1: Clean out and Remove “The Dreaded Shed”

Before:

shedhangers

During:

shedmenatwork

After:

sundayamproject2

Cleaned out, tore down, hauled off.  Good riddance.

February-May 2012

Project #2: Sand and Paint Furniture

Before:

furniturertraffic

After:

drawersdone2

Newly painted furniture means we finally have a place for all of this:

orghamper

March-November 2012

Project #3: Develop and Maintain an Herb and Vegetable Garden

tomatoestied

Okay, so maybe homegrown tomatoes aren’t necessarily a house project.  But come on…HOMEGROWN TOMATOES!

tomatoes

June-July 2012

Project #4: Remove View-Blocking Kitchen Cabinets

Before:

kitchencabinetthen

After:

kitchencabinetnow

More space, more light, more better.

Project #5: Install Wainscoting in Kitchen and Downstairs Bathroom

Before:

HVbathroom

After:

downbath2

Not a necessity, but what an instant facelift!  (I still have some painting to finish, though…)

Project #6: Install New Lighting in Kitchen and Downstairs Bathroom

lightfixtures

Now we can have dinner by candlelight because we want to, not because we have to.

August 2012

Project #7: Replace Bedroom Carpet

bedcarpet

It was such a relief to get rid of that grimy, old carpet.  For a while there, I felt like we were sleeping in a cheap hotel room.

September 2012

Project #8: Hang Something, I Mean, Anything on the Walls

photowall

Most of the frames are empty, but at least they are on the walls instead of in boxes.

November 2012

Project #9: Buy a New Mattress

newmattress

Wow!!!  What a difference a newer, larger mattress makes.  No more aches and pains, no more fighting for space.

******************************************

It feels good to have furniture, a good night’s sleep, a clean and functional backyard and more light.

Here’s to even more improvements in 2013!  Starting with replacing the windows, replacing the kitchen counters, installing new floors, hanging curtains……

For a recap of our home improvements from 2010 through 2011, click here and here.

11 thoughts on “New Year, New Milestones

  1. Love the dresser! You are such a brave woman! I’m about to embark on the remodel of my main bath. Scary, but I know I’ll be so glad when it’s done.

  2. My friend Alys just told me yeasterday, “it’s good to look at what you’ve accomplished rather than what’s undone”. That so true. You’ve been crossing a lot of BIG stuff off you list. That’s a cute dresser, love painted furniture. When we had a house, it seemed like there was always a project to be done and I think we never finished…..Windows, curtains, flooring…can’t wait to see what you’re up too.

    • Thank you all for your sweet and encouraging comments. I tend to require a LOT of accomplishments before I feel accomplished. Hahaha I’m sure I’m not alone.:)

  3. Super like!! Everything looks great 🙂
    I wish you and your loved ones a happy, successful, rewarding, and healthy new year!!

Leave a Reply

