A Charming DIY Breakfast Tray


What’s better than breakfast in bed?

trayabove

Answer: A tray that is large enough to serve breakfast on!

For Christmas this year, Dave and I decided to give each other the gift of sleep by purchasing a new mattress.

mattress

The mattress that suited us the best was a super-firm, spring-coiled Simmon’s Beautyrest Classic in a queen size (a king would not have fit up the staircase).  We have been blissfully snoozing away ever since.

And by “we” I mean us and these two critters:

babyupclose

Since Dave and I are huge fans of breakfast in bed, I decided that we needed an extra special breakfast tray to compliment our extra special bed.

But instead of going shopping, I went straight to the closet under our staircase and pulled out this old thing:

babydoor

An old door from one of our dumbwaiters fit the bill nicely for an afternoon decoupaging project.

With a little help from Baby Girl, of course.

babydoor2

Cats.

traysupplies

If you’ve never decoupaged in your life, no worries.  It’s simple dimple.  Grab yourself some scissors, paper, paint or foam brush and Mod Podge (available at craft stores) and do the following:

Step 1: Using a brush, paint the back side of a piece of paper (newspapers, pages from old books, scrapbook paper, etc.) with Mod Podge.

Step 2: Adhere paper to your item of choice (furniture, picture frame, etc.) and press out any bubbles.

Step 3: Brush a thin layer of Mod Podge over the top of the paper and repeat with more paper until your design is complete. 

Step 4: Allow piece to dry for at least an hour.  Brush on another layer or two of Mod Podge, allowing drying time between each coat.

breakfastinbed1

I decided not to add handles to this tray because it is large enough for me to grab the sides comfortably.

However, I have three more old cabinet doors that I plan to turn into smaller serving trays, but I think I will just give them a fresh coat of paint and some funky handles.

cabinetdoors

Now we have a charming and functional tray for those mornings we want breakfast in bed.

breakfastinbed2

Meanwhile, some of us would rather sleep in instead….

babysleep

********************************************************************************************

If you live in the Abilene area and/or are in desperate need of a great mattress and/or value incredible customer service, head over to Sleeping Giant!

I am not a fan of memory foam or pillow-tops (I wanna feel like I’m sleeping on the floor!), so my salesman, Richard, told me everything I needed to know when purchasing a spring-coil mattress.

6 Tips on Purchasing a Spring-Coil Mattress:

1. Cheap mattresses aren’t worth your time or money.  DON’T BUY THEM!!!!!!!

2. Go with the higher coil count (700-800).  Our bed has 750 coils that pivot in all different directions and support our every curve.  The result: I feel like I’m levitating instead of sinking.

3. Get one that is foam encased.  When I used to sit on the edge of our old mattress, it bowed like a hammock under my weight.  Now when I sit on the edge of our Beautyrest, it’s like I am sitting on a sturdy, supportive chair.  This is because there is a thick frame of high-grade foam surrounding the coils of the mattress.  This border maintains the structure of the mattress and holds the coils in place so that those coils can, in turn, hold me in place.

4. Head, shoulders, knees and toes.  I had begun developing anterior knee pain because our old mattress was not supporting the backs of my knees.  Meanwhile, Dave, the side sleeper, began having neck pain because our old mattress wasn’t supporting his shoulders.  When shopping for a mattress, don’t be afraid to stretch out on a mattress!  Lie on your back--does the mattress support the backs of your knees?  Lie on your side–is your spine aligned or is it wavy from lack of support under your hips and shoulders?

5. Stick to brand names and knowledgeable staff.  When I visited other (mostly discount) furniture stores, the sales people did not even know the coil-count of their mattresses, much less anything else about them.  Meanwhile, Richard was so confident in the product he was selling that he told me to go ahead and shop around at other places to see if I found anything I liked better than the Beautyrest.  (I think he knew I would come running back.  And when I did, he remembered my name.)

6. Always ask for a discount.  Don’t be afraid to offer a lower (but fair) price–you probably will get one since most stores expect this.  How I did it: I asked if the store was offering any Christmas sales since we were on a budget.  No questions asked, Richard offered us the bed frame and mattress cover free of charge, plus sixty percent off of our pillows (we needed new pillows, too).  This seemed more than fair to us and our total price was around $900 for mattress, frame, cover and 2 pillows plus free delivery and free haul off for the old mattress.  On delivery day, we were surprised with an extra pillow free of charge since the one I had originally ordered was no longer in production.

Mattress shopping is such a hassle, but if you find a quality store and are willing to spend the money (A GOOD BED PAYS FOR ITSELF!), you will find that good night’s sleep.

Hope this helps and happy shopping!

14 thoughts on “A Charming DIY Breakfast Tray

  1. Wow, you are so good and creative!! This is really, really cute! You know you probably could sell these and make a ton of money 🙂

  2. I love the crafty idea!! You are so creative! I have a wicker bed desk/tray to hold my laptop that I got at a garage sale for $10 (brand new still in the box!!) I cherish it and use it every day. (Tuffie hides under it in thunder storms :-/ ) But I just adore your bed tray idea!!!!!!!!! And I love decoupage!!!

  3. Clever you. I love the paper you used. Looks totally decadent with your breakfast laid out. I loved all the photos and especially your sleepy kitty. Our two sleep all over us, all night. This morning I was woken by Blossum launching herself off the nightstand on to my head, she thinks she’s in the Olympics or something.

  4. Isn’t having a new mattress awesome? Glad you found a good one! Sometimes I think about having breakfast in bed, but that means I gotta get OUT of bed first! Maybe if I make the tray my husband will take care of the rest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

