Homemade Soft Pretzels


ATTENTION SOFT PRETZEL LOVERS:

The days of waiting for trips to the mall for a soft pretzel are over.

Imagine pulling a batch of these out of your oven this weekend!

pretzdone

You’ll be surprised by how easy it is to make your own pretzels.

You’ll also be surprised by how fast they disappear.

P.S.

If I could I would give you all bouquets of soft pretzels for your love and sweet words you poured on me this past week.  Thank you so much–I needed it. 🙂

Homemade Soft Pretzels

Ingredients

*1 batch of yeast dough

*1 large egg yolk, beaten with a teaspoon of water

*kosher salt

*large pot of boiling water

*1/3 cup baking soda

Fill a 4 to 6-quart pot with water, cover and bring to a boil over high heat.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Meanwhile, form the pretzels.

Concerning the yeast dough, I prefer to use my Momma’s recipe for french bread.  To break up the process, I prepare the dough the night before.  Click here for recipe and step-by-step how-to.

However, if you are short on time and need a soft pretzel NOW, Pillsbury french bread or hot roll dough mix works just as well.

pillsbury hot roll mixpillsburybread

Divide dough into 8 pieces and roll each piece into a 12-inch rope.

Take the left end of the rope in your left hand and the right end in your right hand and cross the ends to make a pretzel shape.

Pinch the edges as well as the place where the dough crosses to secure.

pretzformed

When the water comes to a boil, add 1/3 cup baking soda.  (The water will become violent so be careful).

pretzsoda

Drop in 2-3 pretzels at a time (don’t crowd the pot!)….

pretzpot

…and cook them for about 1 minute or until they begin to float:

pretzfloat

Remove pretzels with a slotted spoon, shaking off any excess water.  Place on a greased baking sheet.

pretzdrain

Repeat with the rest of the pretzels.

Brush tops with the egg mixture…

pretzbrush

…and sprinkle with kosher salt:

pretzsalt

Bake for 12-15 minutes until pretzels are golden.

pretzdone

You may choose to dunk the pretzels in hot butter at this point, but they are just as delicious (not to mention less calories) “naked.”

Serve with honey mustard or even honey butter.

Mmmmm, this might just be my dinner….

****************************

Thank you, Amy, at Afternoon Popcorn Snack for inspiring me to make these again!  For more tasty snack ideas, check out Amy’s blog.  🙂

17 thoughts on “Homemade Soft Pretzels

  1. As I practically live on bread, I can’t think of anything yummier for supper. I’ve not seen those Pilsbury products here….darn, I’m all about fast. I’ll scoot back to read your recipe.

  2. Glad you enjoyed them again! Thanks for the pingback. I actually made these again myself the other day, and my youngest son came around the corner with the entire lid of a bottle of mustard, turned upside down on the carpet, saying, “My want MUSTARD on my pretzel, Mom!” We most certainly enjoyed the pretzels in spite. 🙂

Leave a Reply

