That Time I Killed Something and Ate It


It’s been a crazy week so let’s end it on a crazy note, k?

So, have you ever killed something and ate it?

(Wow.  What a rhetorical question considering that here in Texas almost everybody has freezers stocked with animals they’ve killed and are planning to eat.)

Though I could never butcher a chicken or a cow, there was this one time…

That Time I Killed Something and Ate It

Back in September, while visiting our lovely friends in Maine, we purchased some lobsters from one character of a man at a roadside stand. 

(I mean he was a CHARACTER!  Just like Popeye incarnate.)

However, the excitement of having only paid $20 for three lobsters melted away the minute I opened the bag and peeked in at the wriggling creatures.

MELeilanilobpeek

“Uhh…I don’t think I can do this.”

MELeilanilob8

“Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek!”

Not an attractive expression, but then again, not an attractive task.

(BTW, have I ever told you that my nose does weird things in certain lighting?  Well, it does.)

Anyway, I started the water, muttered a quick prayer over the crustaceans, and…well…carried on with dinner.

MELeilanilob3

“OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD OH GAAAAAaawwwwwwD!!!!!”

MEleilanilob2

“I’M SORRY I’M SORRY I’M SORRY I’M SORRY I’M SORRY I’M SORRY I’M SOoooorrrrrRRY!!!!”

Once the last of the lobsters were in, I slammed the lid on the pot and shed a few tears.

However, just twenty minutes later…

MEleilanilobdone

…my tears dried and my smile returned.  After all, the little lobsters were now in lobster heaven and dinner was ready!

Meleilanilobtail

So with that, we ate them.

(Steaming lobster any time soon?  Cook them according to these instructions.)

***********************************

This post was brought to you by my favorite Far Side cartoon:

farside

11 thoughts on “That Time I Killed Something and Ate It

  1. Ok so NEXT TIME put them to sleep first! video to do it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rJZInQDmYM When I had to cook one for school we put them to sleep and I lowered mine in the pot still asleep so he wouldnt know what hit him. Everyone else woke theirs up and they struggled a bit. You culd tell which one wasmine when they came out – he was still curled up in the sleep position!

    Plus lobsters have no central nervous system to the minute they his the pot they are gone. They arent feeling the pain they are just a bit concerned about being sealed in a small space. Their concern is short lived though – their “pain center” shorts out instantly and they don’t feel anything.

    I must say htough for an avid animal lover such as yourself that was a very brave thing to do! 🙂

    • Thanks for the advice! I was relieved when Popeye told us they wouldn’t feel a thing, but still….I felt sad for them. WHat a cute concept–putting lobsters down for a nap. haha

  2. Hilarious!! We spend a week or two each year at my sisters summer home on Prince Edward Island! My BIL has a huge (I mean you could put a small child in it bit) lobster pot that he has to use outside. My sister will not let it in the house!! I have to leave when it is time to cook the lobsters!!

Leave a Reply

