Thanks, Julia, I Needed That


Raise your hand if you’ve been a Debbie Downer this week.

No?  Just me?

Well then…can I tell you a teensy, weensy, leetle seecret?

I am a pessimist.

grate1

I also:

*…believe the grass is greener on the other side

*…compare myself to others

*…use the words “always” and “never” all the time

*…see the glass half empty

*…say “Awe, #$%@!” when I drop something

*…say “Awe, #$%@!” for everything else.

Yes.  It’s true.

I see the glass half empty and YET if anyone tries to fill it up for me, I say, “No-no-no!  I was gonna do that myself!”

But every once in a while, I reach a point when I am out of answers and WOW does it feel good to drink in the wisdom and words of others.

So I’ll ask the question again: Any Debbie Downers in the room?

Then maybe these words will refresh your glass like they did mine….

32

whatyourenot

failure

process

interested

comfort

construction

innovative

dont

courage

Happy Friday and weekend, everybody!

I feel it’s gonna be a good one.

18 thoughts on “Thanks, Julia, I Needed That

  1. Thanks, I needed that. I was raising my hand too…I was in a slump this week, and couldn’t quite put my finger on it, I new I was feeling grumpy, but just for no particular reason. You hit the nail on the head “I see the glass half empty and YET if anyone tries to fill it up for me, I say, “No-no-no! I was gonna do that myself!”- yes yes yes, story of my life too. Hope your weekend is fantastic.

    • Hugs to you sweet Miranda! I sure hope you find your way out of the slump this weekend. Ok, so let’s talk about the filling issues we have. Dave will always encourage me and I deflect the compliments every time. Is this what you do, too? We need to stop doing this. I told myself to practice not doing this last month and then I forgot. haha

      • Yes, that is what I do too. Paul will try to compliment or help me pull out of the funk and I am like “I am fine, it is fine” I need to learn to let others, especially my husband, help me and help fill me up. Like you, I tell myself to stop doing that, then forget 🙂 I am feeling better the past two days, and have some cool experimental dinners planned for next week, which makes me happy. (I realized part of my funk was coming home everyday to the same old same old… thaw out chicken, serve something boring, blah. So I took action and decided next week I want to be excited to get home and get cooking and experimenting in the kitchen, that always makes me happy. Yes, we need to learn to remember our own rules 😀

      • Yum! Let me know how those recipes turn out. Ugh–I know what you mean about ruts. Work, gym, rush home and figure out dinner, bed. This week has been so off that I haven’t cooked all week. Hate that. BTW, you are beautiful! 🙂

      • Thank you (blushing!) I will let you know how they turn out. I am making your eggplant lasagna Tuesday…can’t wait! I am gonna blog about a banana pudding I made this weekend too 🙂 Have a wonderful, wonderful week friend!

  2. Must be something in the water. I was afflicted this week as well. I love the quote from Henry Ford! “Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, only this time more wisely.” It just stuck a cord with me!

    • You have so many wonderful ideas and a big heart, Colleen. You produce such great work, and I know that eventually your battering ram will bust through to great things! I will hold your hand and hope for this with you. 🙂

  3. Add me to the list! I love these quotes. I will posting one in particular on my wall! I have found something I am passionate about and will keep tremendously interested in it, but also am hoping to pass that interest on to others!! I too thank you Julia!

  4. I find that I compare myself to others and it is totally sucks the joy out of everything! I love the quotes, especially the Julia Childs’ quotes!

  5. All very inspiring! You don’t seem like a Debbie Downer to me at all. Is it possibly you are mis-judging yourself? It’s a long weekend in Canada, so we’re stoked! Enjoy!

  6. I tend to be optimistic about life but do compare myself to others sometimes ~ but I don’t like to because then it keeps me from embracing and enjoying all that they have to offer. I, too, love the Julia Childs quotes. Chin up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

