Let Us Fight For Jams and Jellies!


Politics.

With the exception of John Stewart’s The Daily Show or Saturday Night Live’s depictions of our country’s leaders, I avoid politics.

Politics make me grumpy, apathetic, lame.

UNLESS it involves food!

CLbread

For those you who are not familiar with the Texas Baker’s Bill, it allows certain foods like breads, jams and relishes to be sold from homes but NOT from anywhere else.

Though it is a wonderful thing for home bakers to earn money for their creations, it is unfortunate that these creations are not allowed at places such as farmers markets.

And here is where I become impassioned about politics:

Last summer, I shared about our town’s sweet little farmer’s market.

FMbooth

Our produce is prime, our crafts are crafty, but what really makes our market unique are items such as Linnie’s mesquite bean jelly, Camilla’s award-winning relish and Hilary’s zucchini bread.

zucc

Sadly, we have had to ask our vendors to keep these foods at home this year because they are not allowed at farmers markets.

BUT THERE IS HOPE!

HB 970, a food freedom bill that passed the Senate and House, is awaiting a pass or veto from our governor, Rick Perry.  He has until June 16 to either allow or ban the sale of certain homemade foods at [Texas] farmers markets such as bread and jams and jellies.  You can read the full bill here.

Again, when it comes to politics or letting my voice be heard I feel apathetic.  I mean, does my voice really matter?

In this situation, I say YES!

YES because not only do our voices matter, but our farmers markets matter.

The freedom to share good homemade food with a larger population matters.

jam

Feel the same and want your voice to be heard?

Call (512) 463-2000 or email at http://governor.state.tx.us/contact/assistance.aspx and ask that Governor Perry vote in favor of HB 970.

Thank you for reading and allowing me to share my political opinions with you. 

I’m stepping off my soapbox now.

Besides, I think hear a piece of zucchini bread calling my name….


27 thoughts on “Let Us Fight For Jams and Jellies!

  1. done, Done, DONE!!! I don’t have time to make my own (though I would love to), but I greatly appreciate those who do and share.

  2. Go, Leilani, go! You know, I think if people know where the jams/jellies are coming from and want to make the choice to purchase them, more power to them. What’s the possible difference between selling at home and at a farmer’s market?

  3. A) I adore John Stewart and B) I’ve never heard anything more ludicrous!! No food at the Farmers Market is like a Car without gas……that’s what we go there for. Nice to know they are busy solving important world problems, Government hard at work. LOL.

  4. Wish I could help. But I don’t think they will listen to a Canadian, whose lives in a region where nothing made at home can be sold anywhere!! Has to made in an inspected food safe kitchen outside of private residences. Not sure what the rules are in the rest of the Country, but absolutely no food products can be sold if prepared at home. It really puts a damper on people whose talents lay in cooking/baking and want to have a home based business!

    • Interesting. Gosh! You’d make a killing with your stuff here. And I wonder if you can even sell from home in other US states. This law applies to Texas and I wonder if it’s unique to our rather independent state. 🙂

  5. Oh! Thank you for posting this!!! i am going to make my voice heard with you!!! Us Texas girls must stick together! We ran into this as well, we had grand plans at our local farmer’s market and then found out our bread and jam were not allowed. (We could sell raw eggs more easily than a jar of jam…seriously) I will pass the word along!

    • Really? Eggs? We recently had to drop those as well since they require permits and all sorts of mumbo jumbo. :/ I sure hope this passes so you can share that Peach Cobbler Jam with the world!

      • We went online to Rick Perry’s site and left him messages of our thoughts on the June 16 bill. We told everyone we know too 🙂 Eggs required one permit, which cost about 100$. (expensive, but more simple than the crazy jam and bread requirements!) Our local requirements- amongst other crazy rules, for jam and bread required you to rent time in a PROFESSIONAL FOOD GRADE KITCHEN! Um…wha???? Crazy crazy business.

  6. Hi Leilani,
    just discovered your blog and I couldn’t agree more with your post.
    This is a fight worth while fighting it 🙂
    Sometimes politics can be so absurd.

  7. This is the most ridiculous regulation that I’ve ever hear of. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they’ll allow homemade foods to be sold in the future. I don’t understand why chemical-laden foods with unprounceable ingredient names are considered fine at the grocery store, but real food at a farmer’s market is considered suspect.

    • I know! A vendor of mine thinks it’s ridiculous to have so many restrictions on selling farm-fresh but ungraded eggs. I mean, her chickens are happy, can roam free, eat a good diet. And yet, the graded eggs come from poor hens that are shoved in a cage and mistreated and overworked. And those are ok to sell as long as they are graded and have permits. Sickening.

  8. It’s ok for highly processed food with misleading labels to be sold everywhere but when we want good homemade food that isn’t junk, then it’s oh no? What a crazy bill. I hope you win!

    • Yes! HB970 passed and will go into effect September 1st. Sadly, not in time for this season, but next season’s market for sure! Thanks for asking, Sibylle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

