Being Where You Are


Your big opportunity may be right where you are now. -Napoleon Hill

Imagine how much different life would look if you believed in this statement!

Would you wake up each day more hopeful?  Would you feel lighter; more content?

Ever since we got back from our lovely, lovely trip to Maine this past September, I’ve been struggling to be where I am.  Thoughts like “Is Clyde the best we can do?” and “Are better opportunities waiting for us somewhere else?” have all but made me want to quit making improvements on our house, working in our garden, even engaging in our community.

However, a few weeks ago, while lying awake at night, I decided to make an evaluation on what life was really like where we were.

“Let’s see,” I pondered, “We have great friends and connections, friendly neighbors, we have a place in the community, we are close to family, we have a neat house with a big yard, the cost of living here is low…”

Though I didn’t want to admit it, life sounded good.  And my evaluation made me wonder:

If your life isn’t broken, then why try to fix it?

After all, even though Clyde is not near the beach or the forest or even an IKEA, it is a place where good things have happened and are happening and will happen.

And no matter where Dave and I wind up, this week’s inspiring post from The Nester still applies:

Print by Lara Casey

Print by Lara Casey

Despite having a good life, it only took me one week to become totally discontent with it.

On the bright side, it only took me nine months to get that contentment back.

I mean, I won’t say that I’ll never look on New England with longing again, but I can’t afford to let greener grass stop me from being where I am and doing what I’ve always wanted to do.

How about you?

ushouse

P.S.

Thanks to my friend Rachel for sharing and inspiring me with Hill’s lovely quote.

13 thoughts on “Being Where You Are

  1. Your re-evaluation of these things is very common I think. It’s so easy to fall in love with new places on holidays. You’re there to enjoy yourself, dine out, see fabulous things and generally there’s no housework, yard work, appointments, and the j.o.b. thing. There’s always a bit of a funk when you get back, and struggle to get back into your routine. I’m glad you’ve found your contentedness again. That Buddha guy seemed to hit the nail on the head pretty squarely, I like it!

    • Me, too, Boomdee. Yeah, I bet you REALLY know what I mean seeing as how you have taken some lovely trips this year to warmer places. Thanks for reading and for being who you are. 🙂

  2. Leilani, I love your apple pie picture above. Pictures your charm beautifully. So thankful that you are here sharing our Clyde life so that we can practice “being” together.

  3. Thanks for this! I desperately miss living in San Diego sometimes. You can run outside all year there. It’s by the ocean. We had great friends and a lot of things we could do there. There are times when I really want to move back. But then I remind myself how expensive it was, that many of our friends have left the area, and that we would not have the carefree lifestyle that we once had because we now have a toddler. I remind myself of the beautiful home we get to rent and live in now that is MUCH more affordable than what we would find there and I remind myself of the value of living so close to family. I remind myself of the fun of watching seasons change and the fact that I have found a church where I’m content, something I wasn’t able to do in San Diego. It makes it easier to be content where we now live.

    • Wow, I can imagine you miss it! But all your points are so true. I thought that I would still be just as close to family if we lived in New England because the flight is about as long as the drive. But then again, there is something to being able to jump in a car and go at a moment’s notice–something I have had to do twice this year. Thank you for sharing, Ashleigh and I look forward to house pics!

  4. This is wonderful and so timely! I have been hearing this from the Lord now for a while. Thank you for putting it so truthfully and eloquently! What a blessing.

    • Awe, good to hear from you Lauren. I am finally putting two and two together: I saw your email address on my new subscribers and thought it said Lauren Mengel. I was like, I have no idea who that is. hahah Hope you are well. 🙂

  5. :o) aww thanks for the credit! Thanks for all your insight on so many things. You motivate me to step out of my comfort zone in cooking, fixing stuff, gardening and exercising. Big Hug, Rach

      • Back in the thirties, he was commissioned by Andrew Carnegie to study successful people and what made them all so successful. He studied them for years and years then wrote a book called, Think and Grow Rich. Even though it’s 80 years old, people today still study his work. I’ve just recently discovered him and I’m totally fascinated.

Leave a Reply

