Mojito, Anyone?


Let’s say we all stop what we’re doing for a while and take a little break.

Mojito, anyone?

mojitoserve

It’s summertime which means we can either complain about the mosquitoes or celebrate with a mojito!

(Or at least we can enjoy a mojito while swatting at the mosquitoes…)

mojitotop

While thumbing through a copy of The Bartender’s Bible a few years ago, I stumbled upon this recipe and it’s been a favorite at our house ever since.

However, since everyone likes their drink a little different (I muddle the mint twice as long and add only half the sugar), feel free to tweak this recipe to your liking.  Just don’t tell your mixologist friends. 

Serve on the back deck with friends and a ridiculous amount of chips and salsa and you’ve got yourself an instant party.

Enjoy!

Mojitos

(Source: The Bartender’s Bible)

For one mojito, you will need:

*2 oz. freshly-squeezed lime juice

*2 Tablespoons superfine sugar (regular sugar doesn’t dissolve as well)

*6 large mint leaves

*2 oz. light rum

*1 cup crushed ice

*3-4 ounces club soda

mojitoingredients2

Muddle sugar and mint leaves with a pestle and mortar to bring out the fragrant oils of the mint (about 10 seconds).

mojitomuddle

Squeeze the juice from two large limes and strain.  This will give you approximately 2 ounces of lime juice.

mojitolime

Pour a cup of ice into a cocktail shaker.

OR, if you’re like me and don’t own a cocktail shaker, I find that a protein shaker bottle works just as well.

mojitoshaker

Pour in lime juice and 2 ounces of light rum.

mojitolimeadd

Carefully dump in the sugar and mint mixture.

mojitosugarmint

Give the mixer a good shake for about 30 seconds.

Pour into a glass.  It is traditional to strain out the mint leaves and ice first, but I like all those yummy bits in my mojito.

mojitopour

Pour the club soda over the top and serve.

mojitosoda

For a sugared rim, gently dip the top of your glass into lime juice and then into sugar.

mojitosugarrim

I’m a sucker for a salt rim, so I like to dip my glass into a mixture of sugar and kosher salt.

Because I’m a rebel.

mojitorim

mojitoclose

Thank you for sharing this refreshing little break with me.

Shall we do it again next week?

6 thoughts on “Mojito, Anyone?

  1. Ohhh. The mixture of sugar and salt on the rim is GENIUS.

    Here: Your mojitos and my veggies. We can have a lamb-holding party.

    Black Bean Pico de Gallo (makes a ton)

    3-4 good-sized jalapenos, seeded (keep the seeds if you want heat)
    3 medium-large or five Roma tomatoes, chopped
    1/2 a large sweet onion, chopped
    6 large cloves garlic, or to taste
    about a cup of cilantro, chopped
    1 15-oz can of black beans, rinsed
    juice of one lime
    salt to taste (start on the scant side of a teaspoon, because the beans carry some salt, too)

    Mix all together thoroughly and refrigerate a couple of hours to allow the flavors to meld. Serve with HEB house-made chili-lemon chips or some scoopy vegetable like big wedges of bell pepper, baby bok choy whites or the wide ends of celery.

    • …………………….
      Sorry, I just passed out with elation with the mention of a lamb-holding party. Thanks for the recipe. I think I have all of those ingredients right now!

  2. I’m doing a lot of outdoor entertaining this weekend and have been looking for a drink that it outside my comfort zone! Muddling mint always seemed a bit intimidating to me, weird I know! I will give this a try! Love the photo’s. Makes me want one right now!

Leave a Reply

