A Clyde Woman in Vegas


I’ve never liked Las Vegas, and I despise road trips.

So feel free to laugh when I tell you that I just got back from a 2,130-mile round-trip drive to Sin City.

Las Vegas has never been on my list of places to visit.  In fact, I’d rather go to a rodeo than go to Vegas.

Wait.

I take that back.

I really hate rodeos.

Anyway, deserts and gambling and overall mayhem have never been my cup of tea.  So when my friend Colleen asked me to accompany her to a Lambeth cake conference at a Vegas resort, I really had to think hard about it.  In the end, it was Dave who encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone and go.

And though I never tried a slot machine or even visited the Strip for that matter, this trip opened my eyes to just how BIG the world is and just how small I am in it.

grandcanyonlight

I mean, who wouldn’t feel small staring into the Grand Canyon??

It knocks the wind right out of you.

It hushes you to silence.

Look at those storm clouds passing through the canyon.  Unbelievable!!  I asked a man to take my picture and, unbeknownst to me, he snapped an extra one of my shocked face.

grandcanyonawe

I know.  I look like a possum in this picture.

But standing in the presence of such majesty makes your face do weird things.  I literally could have stood there all day with my mouth hanging open.

grandcanyonhand

The canyon was so massive my eyes could not fathom its depths.  It was like staring into one of those 3-D posters but never finding the hidden image.

In attempt to gain more perspective, I reached out to grab what little understanding I could.  If only I could have brought a handful back with me.

The next big thing Colleen and I encountered was Hoover Dam.

Hooverdam

Damn.

Throngs of people from all over the world were milling around in 110-degree heat just to see this contraption that controls water flow.  And even though it was a looooong and deadly way down, that water sure did look tempting!

Once we got to the resort, it was time to feel small again.

greenvalleyresort

The place was luxurious and intimidating to this country bumpkin, and I’m glad we never made it to the strip.  After all the miles we had driven, all that we had seen and all our resort had to offer, I think seeing more would have overwhelmed me.

greenvalleycabans

Wait.

I was already overwhelmed.

But you know what I mean.

greenvalleygrapes

I was elated to find grapes on the vines of the resort’s vineyard.  Fresh, free fruit ready for the picking?  Now THIS was something my little brain could absorb.

Sticking with the familiar, I spent the next couple days picking and eating a lot of grapes and swimming laps in the smallest of the resort’s three pools.

greenvalleypool

(Note to self: Install a lap pool.)

Finally, it was time to go home, and I was more than ready to get back to my life of cats and canning jam and painting furniture.

A couple hours into the drive, however, my eyes were opened wide again as we passed a fatal accident.  I stared the crumpled mass that was once a pick-up truck praying that no one was still in there.

But there was.

I gasped and cried out at the horrifying sight of the trapped and mangled driver, hoping he was still alive and at the same time…hoping he wasn’t.

In a weird way, I felt like I was at the Grand Canyon again staring out into something so big that my brain simply couldn’t fathom it.  Somehow, man can build miles and miles of roads, hike deep canyons, build massive damns and cities…and, in an instant, be tossed about and crushed so quickly, so easily.  My brain was in knots trying to make sense of it all.

Needless to say, arriving home safely the next day felt more like a privilege than an expected outcome, and I hugged my husband and my cats all the more tightly for it.

Gosh.  How to finish this entry?

I’m so thankful for the opportunity to go and see all the things I saw–even though they were too big for me to comprehend.  If anything, those experiences have made me appreciate even more the little life we enjoy here in Clyde, America.

18 thoughts on “A Clyde Woman in Vegas

  1. The real world can be tough and mean but some how God will show us the beauty so that he brings us back to him. In his world we always see awesomeness!

  2. oh what an amazing trip! You sound like me, I wouldn’t want to go to the crazy Vegas strip either, but the Grand Canyon, and grapes sounded perfect. Sittin here feeding the baby, living vicariously through you! 🙂

  3. I think Dorothy said it best, “there’s no place like home”. I’m not a fan of Vegas either but have been with friends, good for you for taking an opportunity to expand your horizons, literally. I’ve not been to the Grande Canyon, I think I could marvel at it from afar but I’d never get out on that glass viewing deck, not for all the tea in China. We did the Hoover Dam tour years ago when they took you under the dam and I got claustrophobic so I hardly remember anything they said. You are looking totally fit and I agree, a lap pool would be aces. What a great way to start the day. I’d probably just end up floating around with a Gin & tonic and end up getting fat…LOL

    • Thanks, Boomdee! I was actually bummed that I didn’t know abut the glass deck. It may have been at another spot, but how fun to lay belly-down and just stare. 🙂 It was so hot at the dam I just wanted to look and leave. 😛 And I actually never thought I would ever want to go to the Grand Canyon, but I realize now I needed to see it.

  4. What a bittersweet road trip. I mean all of the wonderful and amazing sites you got to see (but made me nauseous (I am deathly afraid of heights), and the tragedy you had to witness. God puts things in our path for so many different reasons. So glad you are home safe and sound. I too am a home body and like the comforts of the familiar and safe!

  5. Well, I’m late, late, late with reading up on blog posts that I’ve missed out on this summer. I’m with you ~ homebody {although I do like to travel}, hate, Hate, HATE Vegas, in awe of the Grand Canyon, and I really don’t like to go out of my comfort zone. I enjoyed this post of your’s. 🙂

    Lori @ A Bright and Beautiful Life

Leave a Reply

