Keeping A Brave Heart


Three years ago, we rolled up our sleeves and jumped head first into a mess of a house.  As a way to cope, I created this blog and have lurve-lurve-lurved all the connections and possibilities it has opened.

Now it is time to roll my sleeves up again and try-try-try to get my new site which I am calling “Keeping Up with Mrs. Smith” up and running.

A new site??

Yes.  A new site with the capacity for even more possibilities!

Mrssmithideas2

But like most things in life, this transition has been…tricky.

A lot has gone wrong.

Stuff hasn’t worked.

Cursing and screaming have ensued.

For 7 months I have tried and failed and tried and failed again to get this new site up.

But I guess 7 months is not long compared to the 3 years [and more to come!] of blood, sweat, tears, penny-pinching and overall suffering we have already put into home ownership!

In short, this house has made me fighter and has given me a brave heart to push for more, more, more.

braveface

(Be honest: Do I look like William Wallace…or more like a creature from Avatar?)

Push, push, push is all I have been doing ever since I got laid off at work at the beginning of July.  The day my position was terminated, I packed up my stuff, turned in my keys, went grocery shopping and later shampooed a rug.

It is a bit scary being unemployed, but the way I see it, I am getting paid in time instead of money.  I’ve felt so pressed for time this past year that I don’t want to waste one minute of this season in my life!

So furniture is getting painted, walls are being decorated and tomatoes are getting canned (kinda like me–haha, jk).

All I have left is to see this website through….

So with that said, I will not be posting on here for a week or maybe two while I figure it all out for hopefully the last time.  The next time we talk I will (FINGERS CROSSED) be inviting you to keep up with me at my new corner of the Internet.

Thank you all so MUCH for reading my tales.  I have enjoyed being the Clyde Woman, and I still am a Clyde Woman, but now I can be more than just a Clyde Woman.

Does that make any sense?

You all have been amazing and I am so blessed that you take the time to read and comment on my words.  (To a blogger, that is like getting a massage and a back scratch AND a pedicure all at the same time!!) 

I cannot wait to see you on the other side where there will be even more recipes, projects and cat stories to share.

I hope…

15 thoughts on “Keeping A Brave Heart

  1. What were the issues on getting it up and running? You aren’t the only one who struggles so I’m hesitant to rush to that step. I definitely want to be able to still follow you though. 🙂 Love the William Wallace pic!

  2. Aw, you have a great blog. Don’t let your temporary hiatus from a job get you down!!

    And stay a Clyde Woman; it’s inspiring!

    Future Clydette. 🙂

  3. This is so cute:)) Just like you. Hope you take off with your site!! Enjoy everything you do and always pat yourself on the back when you’re done:)

    • Chita, you are my brother from another mother…or something like that. 🙂 We share the same industrious spirit and you inspire and encourage me that I can still accomplish just as much no matter age or circumstance. Now…to find my own Timberon…

  4. You have such a great attitude and I might be wrong but you don’t sound devastated at making this transition. I’ll call it a ‘transition’ because it’s going to be a period of growth, new accomplishments, new challenges, learning and change. I’ll be looking forward to your invite at your new web home and can’t wait to see what kind of magic you weave while navigating this new chapter in life. I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you here at Clyde Woman and your fun sense of humour is a big asset in times like this, you make me smile! See you soon Leilani!

  5. I am so proud of you for your outlook on being laid off. Way to find the positive and embrace where life takes you. (I would probably freak out… then… like you…start painting something 🙂
    Best of luck getting that new site to finally work for you. I am a computer and blog dummy, so I am no help, but I will send good thoughts your way.

    • Gosh! I am just now seeing this comment. Thank you, Miranda! It has been a very interesting journey to say the least. I hope to post this Wednesday on the new site. Time to get out of this bubble and get back into the blog world. Missing it. (CUTE BABY!!!)

Leave a Reply

